Posted by: irmayasari | October 16, 2009

Annoyance hit list: Like, whatever, you know? (ABC News)

Last week when I read an online newspaper, I read the article about what people feel about particular language e.g. for the use of ‘whatever’. I reckoned when I read that article, it is about the language attitude, especially when you read what Bruce Moore, director of the Australian National Dictionary Centre at the Australian National University says. Here is the link.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/10/09/2709728.htm

Hope you enjoy it.

Responses

  1. I didn’t know whether to laugh, cry or chuck something at my screen when I was watching this. Is this a real ad??? I probably shouldn’t be surprised if it is! Aside from my emotional feelings towards this video… no, I am blinded by my emotional feelings towards this video!!!

    Ok, based solely on the comment that men acquire information in an even way compared to the effects of information on women (i.e. over exposure makes them crazy), you could argue exactly the opposite. Men with education apparently gain power, power however may make a person (regardless of gender) paranoid that someone will take that power away, they may indeed become tyrants. We have, throughout history, so many examples of paranoid, power-driven, educated (one may say) tyrants… I mean leaders… how many of these are women??

    I wonder what language learning will do to women, compared to men?!? Will women explode???

    On the other hand, maybe I have overacted at what was supposed to be a political snipe at a backward view of women’s education and the processing of knowledge. And so relating it back to language, I ask myself, are people too quick to judge aspects of language that do not coordinate with their values or points of views? Which also leads me to the question, or perhaps acknowledgement, of culturally different expectations of people’s language, and how miscommunication can occur?

    • This comment was supposed to be for the “Women Know Your Place!” blog by Piers….

  2. I definitely agree with Maya that this article focuses on people’s attitudes towards the use of the particular linguistic items such as mate, bloody, twitter twitter. As pointed by Bruce Moore, it is true that at first these words are new and cool for people who use them, after these words become known and overused, they gradually become clichés. And of course, people become bored with them and new words will definitely have been created and then used overwhelmingly again and then gradually go out of use. This, I think, shows language is dynamic in terms of new words which are being created again and again. I personally don’t use much of these words (mate, bloody, twitter twitter), but I have heard them spoken many times, especially the terms mate in sport games and ‘bloody’ (stupid) by many youngsters. I don’t think they are clichés , rather it shows the way the Aussies use different variety of linguistics items. However, some may argue the way the Aussies pronounce the word ‘mate’ as [mait] as the lapse in good English.


Leave a Reply

Categories

